Taranaki Iwi

The rohe of Taranaki Iwi extends along the coastal and mountain area between Ōuri and the Rāwa o Turi stream in the south and Ōnukutaipari in the north.

Taranaki Iwi interests also extend inland to Te Whakangerengere on the northeastern flank of the mountain, up the Waipuku stream to Te Tahuna o Tūtawa (Warwicks Castle), over to Panitahi (Fanthoms Peak) and down to Mangoraukawa (Lake Dive) and the source of the Ōuri stream. It then follows the Ōuri stream water course towards the coast, with a deviation to the headwaters of the Rāwa o Turi stream to the boundary stone of Matirawhati at its mouth.

*Wording from the Deed of Settlement summary between the Crown and Taranaki Iwi.


Contact Taranaki Iwi

Authorised voice

Te Kāhui o Taranaki Trust

Cnr Bayly Road & Ocean View Parade, New Plymouth 4310

Postal address
PO Box 929, Taranaki Mail Centre, New Plymouth 4310

Leanne Horo
Phone: 06 763 8242

Wharehoka Wano
Phone: 06 751 4285
email: whare@taranaki.iwi.nz

Office Administrator
Waiora Hohaia-Ashby
email: waiora@taranaki.iwi.nz

Pou Whakakorikori/Iwi Development Manager
Puna Wano Bryant
email: puna@taranaki.iwi.nz


Ngāti Tairi

Chairperson: Keith Manukonga
Address: 13 Cumming Street, Okato 4335

Ngāti Hamua Te Matehou

Contact: Mrs M Avery
Address: 67 Marama Crescent, New Plymouth



O Rimupiko

Ngāti Tamarongo

Ngāti Kahumate

Ngāti Tara

Ngāti Tuhekerangi

Ngāti Haupoto


The Taranaki Regional Council wishes to record its appreciation for the assistance it has been given to establish this database.

The Council has made every effort to ensure the accuracy of the information in the database but accepts no responsibility for consequences arising from any error.

Any comments regarding the content of these pages should be directed to publications@trc.govt.nz