Management team

The Council staff are organised under a chief executive and four directors.

Senior management team

Chief Executive and Directors

Steve Ruru
Chief Executive
email Steve Ruru


Abby Matthews
Director-Environment Quality
email Abby Matthews

Daniel Harrison
email Daniel Harrison

Fred McLay
Director-Resource Management
email Fred McLay

Mike Nield
Director-Corporate Services
email Mike Nield

Operational structure

The Council employs a permanent staff with wide-ranging professional, technical and administrative skills. The structure matches the Council's fields of activities. It is a flat compact structure with a high level of delegated authority.

Chief Executive (Steve Ruru)

Environment Quality (Director: Abby Matthews)
Science services
Emergency management
Resource investigations and monitoring
Waste minimisation

Operations (Director: Daniel Harrison)
Environment services (biosecurity and biodiversity)
Towards Predator-Free Taranaki 
Land management
River control and flood protection
Regional gardens

Resource Management (Director: Fred McLay)
Policy and planning
Consent processing and monitoring
Harbour navigation and safety
Pollution response

Corporate Services (Director: Mike Nield)
Financial services
Administration and facilities 
Property and investment management
Business information and technology services 
People and wellness
Communications and engagement
Transport planning and services