Taranaki Taku Tūranga - Towards Predator-Free Taranaki

Help Taranaki’s native wildlife & bush – let’s restore Taranaki! Get involved by trapping in your backyard, protecting Taranaki wildlife and native bush from the threat of predators.

It's easy to be part of the action

Get involved and get trapping

Pick up a trap

We can all play a part  to help protect and enhance our region's precious biodiversity — birds, lizards, insects, invertebrates, plants and ecosystems. Join Towards Predator-Free Taranaki and stop rats, possums and mustlelids (stoats, ferrets, weasels) wreaking havoc on our native environment.

It’s critical we stop them before they cause irreparable damage. If you’d like to help biodiversity and get involved in the project, Towards Predator-Free Taranaki — register here. We’re starting in the New Plymouth area, Oākura and the Kaitake Range with three different work streams – rural, urban and Restore Kaitake. 

Taranaki Taku Tūranga - Towards Predator-Free Taranaki

The Taranaki Regional Council can support you with a range of traps and devices, offering subsidised box-tunnel rat traps that are safe around pets and children for $10. If you’re unsure about using a trap, we will also provide assistance and discuss options you’re comfortable with. Find out more at one of our free urban trapping workshops

Schools selling rat traps and boxes 

Pick up a subsidised $10 rat trap and box from one of the following New Plymouth schools, selling them as a fundraiser:

Woodleigh School, New Plymouth: Contact moriz@woodleigh.school.nz

Frankley School, New Plymouth: Contact: Geraldine Irvine geraldine@frankley.school.nz

Manukorihi Intermediate, Waitara: Contact Sally Halcombe s.halcombe@manukorihi.school.nz

Coastal Taranaki School, Ōkato: Contact Margaret Normanton margaret@coastaltaranaki.school.nz

Norfolk School, Inglewood: Contact Elizabeth Carter elizabeth.carter@norfolk.school.nz

St Joseph’s School, Hāwera: Contact Jude Fevre jude@sjshawera.school.nz

Ngaere School, Ngaere/Eltham: Contact megan@ngaere.school.nz

Oakura School: Contact office@oakura.school.nz

Huirangi School, Huirangi/Waitara: Contact principal@huirangi.school.nz

Please contact the school to arrange a time to collect your trap.

Pick up a rat trap and box

Pick up a rat-trap and box for $10 at one of the following public events:

  • New Plymouth pop-up shop: on the corner of Devon and Liardet Streets. Open weekdays 9am-5pm and Saturday 10am-2pm, selling $10 rat-traps and boxes until 25 December or until stocks run out! 
  • Ngamotu Seaside Market, Ngamotu Beach - 9am - 3pm on the first Sunday of each month, weather dependent - more details(external link) 
  • Thursday 8 November 5.30 - 8pm - Garden Evening, Mitre 10 MEGA New Plymouth

Other towns

Other urban areas in Taranaki will be included as the project continues. Please follow the link to register your interest and we'll be in touch when the project comes to your town.

Towards Predator-Free Taranaki registration(external link)

Already got your trap?

Be sure to register on the Trap.NZ website, and record your trapping catches there. This provides invaluable data not only for this project, but for others around New Zealand wanting to do something simillar. The process is easy and free, and there are also apps for both Apple and Android.

Recording catches [PDF, 303 KB] | Trap.NZ website(external link)

Trap.NZ Android app(external link) | Trap.NZ Apple app(external link)

More information

Follow the links for more information about Towards Predator-Free Taranaki and its phases

Urban programme

Rural programme

Restore Kaitake

Schools & Towards Predator-Free Taranaki

What New Plymouth rats like best

Ecologist helps lead Towards Predator-Free Taranaki

Restore Kaitake unites community of trappers

Grandmother becomes urban trapper

Taranaki tackles predator-free challenge

Get involved

Towards a Predator-Free Taranaki registration areas.

Click on map for big version.

To order your trap or show your support, check the map to see which area you're in, then select the appropriate form.

Urban New Plymouth(external link)

Waiwhakaiho rural (Area 1)(external link)

Restore Kaitake(external link)

All other towns & Areas 2-10(external link)

Teachers and principals wanting their school to be involved in Towards Predator-Free Taranaki should email chauncy.ardell@trc.govt.nz with their details.

Back to top