Te Atiawa

The rohe of Te Atiawa extends from Te Rau o Te Huia along the coast to the Herekawe Stream, inland to Tahuna Tutawa, east to Whakangerengere, northeast to Taramoukou, and north back to Te Rau o te Huia.

The area of interest encompasses part of Mount Taranaki and Egmont National Park and overlaps with Ngāti Mutunga (north-east), Ngāti Maru (east), Ngāti Ruanui (south), Ngāruahine (south) and Taranaki Iwi (west).

* Wording taken from the Deed of Settlement between the Crown and Te Atiawa summary.


Contact Te Atiawa

Authorised voice

Te Kotahitanga o Te Atiawa Trust (Te Kotahitanga)

Postal address
PO Box 1097, Taranaki Mail Centre, New Plymouth 4340

Phone: 06 758 4685
email: tari@teatiawa.iwi.nz

Liana Poutū

Hēmi Sundgren

Deputy Chair
Wharehoka Wano


Ngāti Te Whiti

Postal address: PO Box 681, New Plymouth 4340
email: ngatitewhiti@xtra.co.nz

Chairperson: Andrys Underwood
Vice Chairperson: Shane Cassidy
Phone: 06 757 5704

Ngāti Rahiri

Ngāti Rahiri Management Committee
email: ngatirahirihapu@gmail.com

Chairperson: Te Urumairangi Ritai
Secretary/Treasurer: Wikitoria Michalanney
Phone: 027 490 0837

Ngāti Rahiri Hapū Trustees
Postal address: PO Box 132, Waitara

Secretary: Maikara Tapuke
email: mktapuke@icloud.com


Chairperson: Stephen Sadler
Address: 102 Browne St, Waitara 4320
Phone: 021 087 60877
email: tarn.steve@clear.net.nz

Secretary: Matapaepae Urwin
Address: 27 Blake St, Waitara 4320
email: matapaepae@gmail.com


Postal address: PO Box 155, Waitara 4346

Chairperson: Patsy Bodger


Address: 8 Warre Street, Waitara
email: admin@otaraua.co.nz or donna@otaraua.co.nz

Chairperson: David Doorbar
Phone: 027 2311 672

Manager: Robyn Martin-Kemp
Phone: 06 754 8299


Postal address: PO Box 255, Waitara 4346
email: puketapu.hapu@gmail.com

Chairperson: Theresa Patu
Secretary: Fern Brand 

Ngāti Tuparikino

Chairperson: Kahu Taiaroa Healey
Secretary: Linda McCullough

Ngāti Tawhirikura

email: tawhirikura.hapu@gmail.com

Chairperson: Ngamata Skipper
Phone: 027 754 8768
Address: 5 Hume St, Waitara 4320


The Taranaki Regional Council wishes to record its appreciation for the assistance it has been given to establish this database.

The Council has made every effort to ensure the accuracy of the information in the database but accepts no responsibility for consequences arising from any error.

Any comments regarding the content of these pages should be directed to publications@trc.govt.nz