Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi

Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi is one of eight generally recognised iwi of Taranaki. Rauru is the eponymous ancestor of Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi and it is from him that the tribal name is derived.

Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi is located in south Taranaki.

*Wording taken from the Deed of Settlement between the Crown and Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi summary.


Contact Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi

Authorised voice

Te Kaahui o Rauru
Legal Entity of Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi

14 Fookes Street, Waverley 4544

Postal address
PO Box 18, Waverley 4544

Phone: 06 346 5707
Fax: 06 346 5708

Tumu Whakarae
Mike Neho

Leonie Matoe

Puutaiao (Environment) Dept


Ngati Hine, Pukorokoro, Rangitawhi
Ngati Hine waiata
Ngati Hine waiatarua
Ngati Hou Tipua
Ngaa Ariki
Ngati Pourua
Ngati Ruaiti
Ngati Tai
Ngati Maika*
Ngati Pukeko*
Ngati Iti*

* Outside Council Boundary Area


Pakaraka (Maxwell*)
(Ngati Maika Hapu)

Kai Iwi (Kai Iwi*)
(Ngati Pukeko Hapu)

Te Aroha (Kai Iwi*)

Taipake (Kai Iwi*)
(Ngati Iti Hapu)

* Outside Council Boundary Area


The Taranaki Regional Council wishes to record its appreciation for the assistance it has been given to establish this database.

The Council has made every effort to ensure the accuracy of the information in the database but accepts no responsibility for consequences arising from any error.

Any comments regarding the content of these pages should be directed to