Calculating your rates

Rates are yearly charges based on property values, made up of different components accounting for various services. They add up to just over a third of the Taranaki Regional Council's income.

Most of the Council’s income comes from user charges, Government grants, dividends and rent and investment income.

The Council’s rates are collected on its behalf by the region’s three District Councils, which include them in their quarterly rates notices to ratepayers.

Rates vary according to which Taranaki Regional Council constituency your property is in. The Council’s constituencies mostly align with District Council boundaries – the New Plymouth and North Taranaki constituencies are within New Plymouth District, the South Taranaki constituency boundaries match those of South Taranaki district, and Stratford constituency covers Stratford district west of Pohokura Saddle.

What are the different rating components?

All ratepayers pay the General Rate (variable from constituency to contituency), Uniform Annual General Charge (UAGC), as well as targeted rates (variable from constituency to constituency) for transport services.

Ratepayers in New Plymouth and North Taranaki constituencies also pay a separate targeted rate for Yarrow Stadium and a separate targeted rate to fund flood protection schemes and river works in North Taranaki.

General Rate

Your General Rate is based on the capital (improved) value of your property. The actual amount is measured in tenths of a cent per dollar value of land value, and varies according to the constituency you live in. Full details are in the Funding Impact Statement in each  Long-Term Plan or Annual Plan.

Uniform Annual General Charge

The Uniform Annual General Charge (UAGC) is a fixed amount per property. For 2016/2017, the UAGC is $60.38 (including GST) on all separately used or inhabited parts of a rating unit. This is used to fund activities that benefit the whole community.

Targeted rates

These rates are mostly based on the capital value of your property and are generally measured in the thousandth of a cent per dollar of property value. Ratepayers in all constituencies pay a targeted rate for public transport services, though this varies according to the level of service in each.

Ratepayers in the New Plymouth and North Taranaki constituencies also pay targeted rates for river control works, the Lower Waiwhakaiho and the Lower Waitara River flood control schemes, and for Yarrow Stadium. The latter targeted rate differs from the others because it is a differential rate based on the land (unimproved) value of properties. The differential categories are commercial/industrial, residential, small holdings and farmland. Full details and formulas are in the Funding Impact Statement in the Council’s 2018/2028 Long-Term Plan.