Council news

The latest news releases from the Taranaki Regional Council.

Filter News

Taranaki Regional Council offices closed

Taranaki Regional Council

Tue 24 Mar 2020

The Taranaki Regional Council offices are closed from 4pm Tuesday 24 March until further notice due to the COVID-19 pandemic response.

Read more

COVID-19 guidance

Taranaki Regional Council

Wed 18 Mar 2020

The Taranaki Regional Council offices will close from Wednesday 25 March until further notice due to the COVID-19 alert level four.

Read more

Committee meetings postponed

Taranaki Regional Council

Mon 16 Mar 2020

Meetings of the Consents & Regulatory Committee and the Policy & Planning Committee, scheduled for Tuesday March 17, have been postponed until further notice.

Read more

Predator Free 2050: Taranaki leading the way

North Island Robin

Thu 12 Mar 2020

Taranaki is well ahead of the game as the country works towards the ambitious goal of becoming predator free by 2050, says the Taranaki Regional Council.

Read more

Forgotten World Highway funding welcomed

SH43 BlockImage

Fri 28 Feb 2020

It’s fantastic news for the region that a total of $23 million will be spent to seal and improve the Forgotten World Highway (SH43), says the Regional Transport Committee Chair, Matthew McDonald.

Read more

Best native-bird breeding season in 30 years

Towards Predator-Free Taranaki

Thu 27 Feb 2020

It’s been the best native-bird breeding season in 30 years for some areas in New Plymouth district, say a couple who credit intense predator control.

Read more

Tawhiti Stream investigation

Taranaki Regional Council

Mon 24 Feb 2020

The Council was alerted to a potential fish kill in the Tawhiti Stream on Friday afternoon, 21 February, likely linked to an earlier emergency at the upstream Silver Ferns Farms plant.

Read more

River and groundwater surveys find only tiniest trace of pesticides

Groundwater sampling

Tue 04 Feb 2020

The results of two recent sampling surveys offer reassurance to those concerned about the potential for pesticide contamination in the region’s fresh water, the Taranaki Regional Council says.

Read more