

Initial Proposal for Representation Arrangements for the 2019 Local Government Elections

On 26 June 2018, the Taranaki Regional Council (the Council) reviewed its representation arrangements and resolved to adopt the following proposal for the Councils local government elections to be held on 12 October 2019.

Council Representation

It is proposed that the Council be comprised of 11 members elected from four constituencies. The four constituencies reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Constituency	Communities of Interest	
New Plymouth*	The urban area of the New Plymouth District City Ward	
North Taranaki*	The rural area of the New Plymouth District including Okato, Inglewood, Waitara and Urenui townships	
Stratford	The area of the Stratford District except for the portion of Eastern Stratford District that lies within the Horizons Regional Council region	
South Taranaki	The area of the South Taranaki District	

^{*} The Council proposes a boundary change to the New Plymouth and North Taranaki constituencies. It is proposed to make the New Plymouth Constituency the same as the New Plymouth District City Ward. This change incorporates into the New Plymouth constituency the townships and immediate surrounding areas of Omata and Oakura that currently reside in North Taranaki constituency. The boundary and population of the North Taranaki constituency would reduce.

The population that each member will represent is as follows.

Constituency	Population (Population Estimate as at 30 June 2017)	Members	Population per Member
New Plymouth	57,700	5	11,540
North Taranaki	23,000	2	11,500
Stratford	9,270	1	9,270
South Taranaki	28,000	3	9,333
Totals	117,970	11	10,725

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the population that each member represents must be within the range of 10,725 \pm 10% (11,797 to 9,545) unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise. The representation of the Stratford and South Taranaki constituencies falls outside the stipulated range. The Council considers that the Stratford Constituency warrants one member and the South Taranaki Constituency warrants two members for the following reasons:

- the proposed representation reflects the status quo (with only minor proposed boundary changes), which is well understood and accepted by the regional community.
- the constituency boundaries are closely aligned to territorial local authority boundaries.
- the territorial local authority boundaries align with identified communities of interest within Taranaki.
- the proposed representation is close to complying with the ± 10% requirement of the *Local Electoral Act 2001*.

Further Information

Copies of the Council's resolution and maps setting out the areas of the proposed constituencies can be viewed at and obtained from the Council's offices at 47 Cloten Road, Stratford.

Any queries regarding the Council's decision should be directed to Kathryn van Gameren, Committee Administrator, on o6 765 7127 or kathryn.vangameren@trc.govt.nz

Submissions are invited

Persons with an interest in the proposed representation arrangements are invited to make a written submission on the Council's initial representation proposal. Submissions can be forwarded to:

The Chief Executive, Taranaki Regional Council, Private Bag 713, Stratford 4352 or Fax o6 765 5097, or email to kathryn.vangameren@trc.govt.nz - subject 2019 Representation Review Submission.

Submissions must be received by the Council no later than 5pm Friday 10 August 2018.

B G Chamberlain Chief Executive Taranaki Regional Council

¹ Meshblocks

^{1555001, 1555302, 1555303, 1555304, 1555400, 1555500, 1555602, 1555606, 1555607, 1555702, 1555703, 1555800, 1555900, 1556001, 1556100, 1557001, 1557002, 1557100, 4007886, 4007887, 4008025, 4008026, 4008728, 400872}

