# NOTICE OF ELECTION, NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES AND ENROLMENT ARRANGEMENTS for the 2016 Local Authority Elections

The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday 8 October 2016:



# NEW PLYMOUTH DISTRICT

(First Past the Post electoral system)

MAYOR Election of Mayor

Election of ten members for the New Plymouth City Ward

Election of two members for the North Ward Election of two members for the South-West Ward

#### COMMUNITY BOARDS

Election of four members for the Clifton Community Board Election of four members for the Inglewood Community Board

Election of four members for the Kaitake Community Board

Election of four members for the Waitara Community Board

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting documents.

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer New Plymouth District Council 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth Phone 0800 922 822

TARANAKI DISTRICT HEALTH BOARD

### TARANAKI DISTRICT HEALTH BOARD

(Single Transferable Voting electoral system) Election of seven members for the Taranaki District Health Board

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting documents.

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Taranaki District Health Board

David Street, New Plymouth Phone 0800 922 822

#### NOMINATIONS

Nominations for the above positions open on **Friday 15 July 2016** and must be made on the appropriate nomination paper for each position, available from the relevant Electoral Officer. Nomination papers are also available from the offices of each local authority (as shown below), or online at:

- New Plymouth District Council: www.newplymouthnz.com
   Targardi District Haalth Bagadawayaytallik and an
- Taranaki District Health Board: www.tdhb.org.nz Stratford District Council: www.stratford.govt.nz
- Taranaki Regional Council: www.stratiord.go
- South Taranaki District Council: www.southtaranaki.com

Completed nomination documents must be received by the relevant Electoral Officer no later than **noon on Friday 12 August 2016**. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of \$200 incl GST, payable by cash, cheque or electronic (eftpos, internet) – see the relevant candidate information handbook for requirements.

Candidates are advised that if they are intending to submit a candidate profile statement and photograph for sending out with voting documents to electors, these must be lodged at the same time as the nomination paper and nomination deposit. The requirements for candidate profile statements and photographs are set out in the relevant candidate information handbook available with a nomination paper.

Taranaki District Health Board candidates must also submit a Conflict of Interest Statement with their information. Requirements of the Conflict of Interest Statement are included in the candidate information handbook.

#### ELECTORAL ROLLS

Preliminary electoral rolls for the above elections can be inspected at the following locations during normal office hours from Friday 15 July 2016 to Friday 12 August 2016:

#### NEW PLYMOUTH DISTRICT COUNCIL

- Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth
- Bell Block library and service centre, Parklands Avenue, Bell Block
- Inglewood library and service centre, Rata Street, Inglewood
- Waitara library and services centre, 17 Queen Street, Waitara
   Buke Ariki library Ariki Street New Planewid
- Puke Ariki library, Ariki Street, New Plymouth
  Oakura library, Pitcairn Street, Oakura
- Urenui library, Takiroa Street, Urenui
- STRATFORD DISTRICT COUNCIL
- Administration Building, 61-63 Miranda Street, Stratford
- Stratford District and Centennial Library, 78 Miranda Street, Stratford

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

- completing an enrolment form available at post shops, libraries or District Council offices
- calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
- visiting the Elections website (www.elections.org.nz).



#### **STRATFORD DISTRICT COUNCIL** (First Past the Post electoral system)

MAYOR

Election of Mayor

**COUNCIL** Election of four members for the

Rural Ward Election of six members for the Urban Ward

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting documents.

#### Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Stratford District Council 61-63 Miranda Street, Stratford Phone 0800 922 822



## TARANAKI REGIONAL COUNCIL

(First Past the Post electoral system) Election of five members for the New

Plymouth Constituency Election of two members for the North

Taranaki Constituency

Election of three members for the South Taranaki Constituency

Election of one member for the Stratford Constituency

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting documents.

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Taranaki Regional Council 47 Cloten Road, Stratford Phone 0800 922 822



# SOUTH TARANAKI DISTRICT

(First Past the Post electoral system)
MAYOR

Election of Mayor

COUNCIL

Election of three members for the Egmont Plains Ward

Election of two members for the Eltham Ward Election of four members for the Hawera-Normanby Ward

Election of two members for the Patea Ward Election of one member for the Tangahoe Ward

#### COMMUNITY BOARDS

Election of four members for the Egmont Plains Community Board

Election of four members for the Eltham Community Board

Election of four members for the Hawera-Tangahoe Community Board consisting of:

Hawera-Normanby Subdivision (3)Tangahoe Subdivision (1)

Election of four members for the Patea Community Board

Candidate names will be listed in pseudorandom order on the voting documents.

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer South Taranaki District Council 105-111 Albion Street, Hawera Phone 0800 922 822

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm on Friday 12 August 2016.

SOUTH TARANAKI DISTRICT COUNCIL

• Eltham Library Plus, High Street, Eltham

• Hawera Library Plus, High Street, Hawera

• Manaia Library Plus, South Road, Manaia

Patea Library Plus, Egmont Street, Patea
 Waverley Library Plus, Weraroa Road, Waverley

• Administration Building, 105-111 Albion Street, Hawera

• Kaponga Library Plus, 42 Victoria Street, Kaponga

• Opunake Library Plus, Tasman Street, Opunake

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the relevant District Council Electoral Officer before 5pm Friday 12 August 2016.

Local Elections 2016 YOUR VOTE YOUR COMMUNIT