# FACT SHEET 2022 election 8 OCTOBER 2022



## What does Council do?

While district councils are responsible for a wide range of local services in your area, the role and responsibilities of the Regional Council involve managing the region's natural resources - it manages land, air, coast and the quality of water in our lakes and rivers. They are also responsible for biodiversity, regional parks, flood protection, emergency management and regional transport. The Regional Council works closely with district councils and other agencies on some issues, to ensure they are managed to benefit the entire region.

# **Background**

Local government triennial elections are being held by postal vote on Saturday 8 October 2022 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to the Taranaki Regional Council.

The elections are undertaken on behalf of the regional council by its three constituent territorial authorities (New Plymouth District Council, South Taranaki District Council and Stratford District Council). In addition to their own elections (Mayor, Council etc), each constituent territorial authority is also required to undertake the regional council election.

The first past the post (FPP) electoral system will be used for the Taranaki Regional Council election.

## 2022 Key Dates

Nominations open	Friday 15 July
Nominations close	Noon, Friday 12 August
Delivery of voting packs	from Friday 16 September
Close of voting	Noon, Saturday 8 October
Official results announced	Thursday 13 October

# Who is being elected?

Following the decision to establish Māori constituencies in 2021, Taranaki Regional Council undertook a representation arrangements review (review of constituencies, boundaries, number of elected members etc).

Elections will be required for the following positions:\*

- Councillors (11)
  - New Plymouth General Constituency (5)
  - North Taranaki General Constituency (2)
  - Stratford General Constituency (1)
  - South Taranaki General Constituency (2)
  - Taranaki Māori Constituency (1)
- \* subject to determination by the Local Government Commission, expected by 10 April 2022.

## How can I be nominated?

Nominations for these positions will open on Friday 15 July 2022 and close at noon on Friday 12 August 2022.

Nomination papers will be available during this period:

- New Plymouth District Council's Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth
- South Taranaki District Council's Administration Building, 105-111 Albion Street, Hawera
- Stratford District Council's Administration Building, 63 Miranda Street, Stratford
- by accessing www.trc.govt.nz
- by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate **must** be:

- a New Zealand citizen (by birth or naturalisation ceremony);
   and
- enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand) on either the general or Māori electoral roll, irrespective of the constituency being nominated for; and
- nominated by two electors whose names appear on the respective electoral roll within the constituency that a candidate is standing for.

A detailed candidate information handbook will be available from April 2022.

#### Who can vote?

Those eligible to vote are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes on Friday 12 August 2022. The Preliminary Electoral Roll will be available for public inspection from **Friday 15 July 2022** to **Friday 12 August 2022** at the above locations.

<u>Resident Roll:</u> All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live.

Any alterations to the Resident Roll (e.g. change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

- completing the appropriate form at any postal agency;
- phoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 36 76 56)
- accessing the Electoral Commission website on: www.vote.nz

Ratepayer Roll: If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (provided the nominated person resides outside the area). Ratepayer Roll enrolment forms are available from respective territorial authority websites, or by phoning 0800 922 822.

Those electors on the general electoral roll will be able to vote for the respective general constituency candidates, and those on the Māori electoral roll will be able to vote for the Māori constituency candidates.

### How to vote?

Voting packs will be sent out in the mail to all those who have enrolled from **Friday 16 September 2022.** 

The voting period is three weeks (Friday 16 September 2022 to noon Saturday 8 October 2022). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange prepaid envelope sent with their voting document.

Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Friday 16 September 2022 to noon, Saturday 8 October 2022 at:

 New Plymouth District Council's Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth

- South Taranaki District Council's Administration Building, 105-111 Albion Street, Hawera
- Stratford District Council's Administration Building, 63 Miranda Street, Stratford.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by **noon Saturday 8 October 2022.** 

Progress results will be announced early afternoon of election day. Preliminary results will be announced on Sunday morning, 9 October 2022, and final results will be known on Thursday 13 October 2022. All results will be accessible on Council's website: www.trc.govt.nz

### Contact us



Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Independent Election Services Ltd Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland PO Box 5135, Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142 Email: info@electionservices.co.nz

Phone: 0800 922 822

Mike Nield, Director Corporate Services Taranaki Regional Council 47 Cloten Road, Stratford Private Bag 713, Stratford 4352 Email: mike.nield@trc.govt.nz

Phone: (06) 765 5097